The 32 ministers of the new Government of Equatorial Guinea take office

Archive – The President of Equatorial Guinea, Teodoro Obiang – JU PENG / ZUMA PRESS / CONTACTOPHOTO

The 32 ministers of the new Executive of Equatorial Guinea took office in a ceremony held last Friday at the People’s Palace in Malabo, capital of the former Spanish colony.

The Equatoguinean President, Teodoro Obiang, has addressed the new officials to congratulate them and to appeal to their «sense of patriotism and honesty», according to Obiang’s party, the Democratic Party of Equatorial Guinea (PDGE), in a press release.

The new Government that will accompany Prime Minister Manuela Roca Botey is made up of 32 ministers, including three Ministers of State and four Ministers Delegate.

Among them, there are names that change departments, such as Gabriel Mbega Obiang Lima, who leaves the Ministry of Mines after several years to take charge of the Ministry of Planning and Economic Diversification.

Among the new faces are the Minister of Information, Press and Radio, Pamela Nse Eworo; the Minister of Fisheries and Water Resources, Francisco Medina Catalán, or the new Minister of Finance, Fortunato Ofa Mbo Nchama.

All of them were sworn in during a ceremony presided over by Obiang in the Ambassadors’ Hall of the People’s Palace. Obiang has appealed to avoid corruption. «A minister cannot betray his Homeland, he must be a defender of the Nation (…). You must prove your weight, your honesty and transparency. You must try to demonstrate your capacity», he pointed out.

Also present was the vice-president and secretary general of the PDGE, Jerónimo Osa Osa Ecoro, accompanied by the first and second deputies, Armando Ela Nsue Mengue and Judith Nfono Ngono.